Claremore Bluegrass & Chili Fest 2013

I haven’t missed a year since I started going, which I’m going to guess is maybe … fifteen years? (Estimating the passage of time has never been one of my strong points.) Anyway, it’s been a long time.

I was raised on bluegrass and bluegrass festivals, and while I confess that these days I go more for the people watching than the music, it’s something that is deep down in my blood and I’ll never be entirely free of it. And that’s not a bad thing.

Image

And it makes me happy to see that there’s another generation being exposed to live music, just like I was.

Image

There’s music …

Image

… and chili cooking…

Image

And a multitude of adorable children.

ImageImage

And the constant thread that has run through my entire life: Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver. His band may constantly change, but the sound doesn’t. At the risk of making him feel older than he is, his is literally the first music I can remember hearing growing up.

Image

And be honest – how could you not like somebody with a stylin’ coat like that?

Leave a Reply

